~A Psalm in My Heart Fridays + An Awesome Story!!~

 I will praise thee, O Lord, among the people: and I will sing praises unto thee among the nations.-Psalms 108:3

For thy mercy is great above the heavens: and thy truth reacheth unto the clouds.-Psalms 108:4

Be thou exalted, O God, above the heavens: and thy glory above all the earth; ~Psalms 108:5

Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man.-Psalms 108:12

Through God we shall do valiantly: for he it is that shall tread down our enemies.-Psalm 108:13 – A believer in God’s word has the power to make the demons tremble!

I hope those verses were a blessing to you! Now, I want to share this story that I heard from a missionary, and it was such a blessing to me, and I pray it is the same to you all. 🙂

The Story of the King with Nine Fingers

There were two guys who once were raised together. They were very close friends during their childhood, and one of them became a king. Of course since the king and his friend grew up together they were always together. Now, the friend was a man who always spoke positive in any situation whether it was good or bad, he would always say,”It was a good thing”. One day, the king and his friend went hunting and the king had his friend to load powder into his gun. Unfortunately, the gun exploded and with the explosion, the king lost his thumb. And when the friend seen what had happened he automatically said,”Oh,it was a good thing.” Of course the king was not thinking on those same terms. On the journey back home,they didn’t converse much. When they arrived at the palace, the king placed his friend in prison, and he said to his friend, “Now, you will see if this is a good thing!”

The king left him in there for about a year. So, after while, the king went back to his hunting but this time he went alone. While hunting the king was caught by cannibals and they tied him up and took him to their village. They then put him on the stake and they were all ready to prepare the recipe. Then one of the guys went up to the king and he realized that the king only had nine fingers. He then said to the others “Come and see this weird man he only has nine fingers.” And when they seen this they said,”Oh, we had better let him go he must be a special man from the gods, and their wrath would be against us.” So, they let the king go. Now, after experiencing such a  near death experience, he realized that having nine fingers was indeed a good thing. The king rushed and went to the prison to set his friend free. The king related the story to his friend. “I have done a very bad thing against you!”,said the king.  But the friend answered and said, “No, it was a good thing.”  The king said, how can you say that it was a good thing?  I left you in prison suffering and away from your family. The king said again,” I don’t understand you, how can you say it was a good thing?” The friend then said, “It’s very simple my king because if I was with you,I would’ve been eaten up!”

I really enjoyed the story when  I first heard it because it really opened my eyes about the things that I go through in life. We as humans  don’t see the whole plan of God. There is always a purpose for whatever we are going through in this life whether it is positive or negative. Many times we don’t see the full picture and we cry, “Lord why me?”  Why not us? I know it’s really hard sometimes but I always say, “If we never have rainy days, how could we truly appreciate the days when the sun is shining and we can clearly see God’s blessings?    Also, sometimes our disappointments could be a testimony to help somebody else. After all we are here to help one another,right? Your faith that has brought you through your trial could very well lift somebody else’s level of faith.

Now, I’ll leave you with these parting words:

“Fret not for what tomorrow may hold; but trust in the One who holds tomorrow.”

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

