Some Author Love! ~ Janette Oke + New Drama Series!!

One of my many favorite Christian fiction authors is, Janette Oke!

She was really the first Christian Fiction author that I had discovered while growing up.I I love her stories! I have re-read most of her books over and over again. I have read mostly all of her books and they have been an encouragement to me. Her stories were mostly clean reads which is another reason why I re-read them so much. Now to have a new drama based on her book in the Canadian West Series would be phenomenal! I have watched all of the Love Come Softly  drama series and I really enjoyed them though they weren’t truly following the books, they were good in their own way.  I have included both of the trailers that I could find at the bottom of this post about the new drama, When Calls the Heart.

I cannot wait to watch the series inspired by Janette Oke’s book, “When Calls the Heart”. It aired on Hallmark last Saturday which would have been October 19, to those who didn’t know.

389827

When Calls the Heart, is included in the Canadian West series. I totally enjoyed the book, and I can’t wait to see the hero and the heroine come alive!

I’ve read all the series in that one. The ones I really liked were:

When Comes the Spring (Canadian West #2)  When Hope Springs New (Canadian West #4) When Breaks the Dawn (Canadian West #3) Beyond the Gathering Storm (Canadian West #5)

That’s almost all of them. lol. 🙂  My sister kept on begging me to read it. I wasn’t so sure even though I was a really big fan of Janette Oke. But  I’m so glad that I did read them. They were good!

To have a movie about Elizabeth and Wynn’s story would be would be super awesome! I think  that more christian fiction books should be made into movies!

Other books by Janette Oke that I really enjoyed are:

A Bride for Donnigan, Repackaged Edition  A Gown of Spanish Lace, Repackaged Edition Drums of Change, Repackaged Edition Roses for Mama, Repackaged Edition

The Meeting Place The Centurion's Wife The Sacred Shore The Distant Beacon

Love Comes Softly, Revised Edition

Also a new book by Janette Oke’s daughter, Laurel Oke Logan,  is to be released in Feb.2014! Can’t wait!

Cover Art

Here are the trailers about the drama,”When Calls the Heart”

Some quotes by Janette Oke:

“Sometimes love isn’t fireworks, sometimes love just comes softly.”-Janette Oke, Love Comes Softly

“Having someone who understands is a great blessing for ourselves. Being someone who understands is a great blessing to others.”-Janette Oke

“When you read you can have every adventure. In the pages of a book you can be anyone you ever dreamed of being… They can never tell you you’re too young to slay the dragon — because it all happens right here, where it’s safe.”-Love Comes Softly

“Sometimes, the darkest part of the morning is just before dawn”-Janette Oke,A Searching Heart

Are there any Janette Oke fans out there? What are your favorite books by Janette Oke? 🙂

9 Comments

  1. Nice post!! I really admire Janette Oke because there are few writers left who can write clean, engaging novels like she can. My favorite books of hers are A Bride for Donnigan and The Centurian’s Wife.

    I can’t wait to watch the series, though. I’ve already missed the first episode but I plan on catching the re-run.

  2. I love Janette Oke! I’m almost finished with the entire Love Comes Softly book series and I love it! I have watched the movies already, but so far, and they follow the books-hardly. I love the When Calls the Heart movie and the Hallmark series When Calls the Heart. I haven’t read the Canadian West Saga…yet. But if it’s anything like The Return to the Canadian West series I will love it! I love her books more than any book series!
    And I love the series (Song of Acadia) co-written with T. Davis Bunn and, of course, Janette Oke.

Leave a Reply

