Harvest of Gold- Tessa Afshar~Book Review~

Harvest of Gold (Harvest #2)      Book Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

Tessa Afshar has done it again! Harvest of Gold is the sequel to her previous book,Harvest of Rubies. I have been so eagerly waiting to read Harvest of  Gold ever since I’ve read the first book. I must say that the book was a very awesome and inspiring read. I really enjoyed it!

I really loved how Tessa Afshar developed the story of Darius and Sarah.  At first it seemed that their love story wouldn’t have a happy ending, but I’m so thankful that Miss Afshar brought about such a happy conclusion!

I really admire the heroine Sarah in Harvest of Gold. She is such an inspiration. She had such unmovable faith and a courage that couldn’t be shaken.
A perfect role model for me!

On the other hand, I also found the background story of Darius’ life to  be very interesting. In his younger life he went through many things that molded who he was and it really affected him greatly in his marriage to Sarah.  It almost seemed as if he could only be an impenetrable wall. The background story of Darius really helped me to understand him a whole lot better. His story of being raised in a palace at a very young age away from his loving parents only to be introduced to a harsh,cruel,unloving world. It really touched my heart because he suffered so much bullying from his peers and he had to hide many of his feelings in order to grow into the man his family was expecting him to be. It was really moving how that God through Nehemiah helped Darius to overcome that struggle.

Nehemiah was also a key character in this book because in the story it shows the struggles and the victory of being able to restore the  former glory of Jerusalem. Nehemiah, once a lowly cup bearer for the King, became a leader for the people of Israel. Though they suffered many things, they still were able to overcome many obstacles presented to them in either the form of criticism,their enemies and with meager supplies of food. To actually see the victory they won through God and with the help of Nehemiah was amazing!

There are some parts in Harvest of Gold that were just absolutely hilarious! In the book, there are two new characters,Lysander and Roxanna. Lysander a man who has many hidden qualities and Roxanna a very strong-willed woman with a mind of her own. I really liked Roxanna’s character. She was a spy for the king. There many times in the book that she  would seem very oblivious about the opinions the other characters would have about her. You would not believe the disguises that she wore in order to hide that fact that she was indeed a spy!

Both Lysander and Roxanna were both hilarious in the many situations they faced in the book.  That is another quality that I love in Tessa Afshar’s books is that somehow she has a way of adding humor to her stories. Many times I can’t help myself from laughing out loud!

I really love the book cover for Harvest of Gold! All of her book covers they are so unique! The book cover of Harvest of Gold is no exception.

The only problems that I had with the book was that there were some parts in the story that I didn’t feel comfortable reading. Yes, Darius and Sarah were a married couple, but there were some things in there I totally didn’t expect to read in this story because in her past books she has precautions about such things. Another thing is that even though the story was good,I though it  wasn’t as good as her first book in this series,Harvest of Rubies.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading Harvest of Gold. It was such an amazing and heart-touching story until the very end. I’m eagerly anticipating any forth coming books by Tessa Afshar. She’s such an inspiring author.

* I received a free copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review,nor was I required to write a positive review.All opinions expressed are entirely my own.*

You can find out more of Tessa  Afshar and her books at:

http://www.tessaafshar.com/

Leave a Reply

