~My Top Picks for the Best Books I’ve read in 2013!! ~ Christian Fiction and Cookbooks~

Hello everyone!!!  Since the year 2013 is coming to an end I thought about sharing some of the books that I’ve totally enjoyed this year!  I wish that I could talk more about them but I’m just going to give you the highlights in order to save time. 🙂

Christian Fiction/Historical

Into the Whirlwind

Into the Whirlwind by Elizabeth Camden

Book rating: 5 out 5 stars

I loved, loved this book! Wonderful Christian Fiction writing. Maybe the best one yet that I’ve read this year!

Surrender the Heart (Surrender to Destiny, #1)

 Surrender the Heart by MaryLu Tyndall

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This book is the first book that I’ve read by MaryLu Tyndall and I totally enjoyed this story!  I hope to read more of her books

in the near future. 🙂

When Love Calls (The Gregory Sisters, #1)

When Love Calls by Lorna Seilstad

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Gunman's Bride

 The Gunman’s Bride by Catherine Palmer

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A Promise to Love

 A Promise to Love by Serena Miller

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A Bride for All Seasons A Bride for all Seasons by Margaret Brownley, Debra Clopton  et al

Book rating: 4 out 5 stars

Grave Consequences (Grand Tour Series, #2)

 Grave Consequences by Lisa T. Bergren

Book rating 4 out of 5 stars

Wings of a Dream

 Wings of a Dream by Anne Mateer

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is truly a book worth re-reading! I’ve read this book over and over and it gets better every time!

I LOVE this book!

Against the Tide Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I really love how Elizabeth Camden brought out the trials of a woman trying to overcome an addiction with lots of adventure

in between!  The heroine in the book was a very intelligent woman something that wasn’t really valued during those times. She knew so many languages! Awesome!

Stealing the Preacher

 Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sweet Mercy

Sweet Mercy by Ann Tatlock

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Be Still My Soul (The Cadence of Grace #1)

Be Still My Soul by Joanne Bischof

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

If you want DRAMA read this book! It was a very heart touching story drama filled story.

Amish/Quaker Christian Fiction

I rarely read Amish fiction, but when I do read Amish fiction I prefer to have something  in the plot that is totally different  that your average generic Amish fiction story. No offense to any Amish fiction readers. That’s just my opinion. But here are some very good ones that I’ve read this year.

The Heart's Frontier (The Amish of Apple Grove #1)

 The Heart’s Frontier by Lori Copeland and Virgina Smith

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I loved how the authors included the western story and the Amish story together! A really great read!

Though Mountains Fall (Daughters of Caleb Bender #3)

 Though Mountains Fall by Dale Cramer

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Messenger

The Messenger by Siri Mitchell

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A very clean and decent read with lots of adventure! The heroine is a Quaker and the book gives insight into the lives of  the Quakers and people back then  which was very interesting by the way. Loved it!

Regency Era /Christian Fiction

The Heiress of Winterwood (Whispers on the Moors, # 1)

 The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah E.Ladd

Book rating: 5 out of 5  stars

A Change of Fortune (Ladies of Distinction, #1)

A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Blackmoore

 Blackmoore  by Julianne Donaldson

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Persuasion

 Persuasion by Jane Austen

Book rating 4 out of 5 stars

Got this and three other books by Jane Austen for a $1 so I had to buy them!

Very great read! One of her mature works. I haven’t read all of her works

but I will soon!

Tudor Period/Christian Fiction

To Die For: A Novel of Anne Boleyn (Ladies in Waiting, #1)

 To Die For by Sandra Byrd

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book and I can’t wait to read more books by Sandra Byrd!

The Best in Biblical Fiction-2013

I didn’t get to read as much Biblical fiction this year. 😦   Maybe I’ll do better next year.

 

Love in a Broken Vessel

Love in a Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews

Book rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really,really loved reading this book! It was the best! I loved how Mesu Andrews really

made the story seem as if it was something that COULD’VE happened, and it wasn’t something that was way out there like some Biblical fiction writers tend to do .  It really showed

how that  God will love  us over and over  us even when we sometimes make the same crazy mistakes over and over!

I will cherish this story always! 🙂

Best in Contemporary Christian Mystery 2013

I’m looking forward to reading more mysteries as well!

When the Smoke Clears (Deadly Reunions, #1)

When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason

Book rating 5 out of 5 stars

Fantasy Fiction/Christian Based

The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

Book rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Best Cookbooks I’ve Read this Year

Joy the Baker Cookbook: 100 Simple and Comforting Recipes

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: A Year of Holidays

Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

The First Real Kitchen Cookbook: 100 Recipes and Tips for New Cooks

13153371

Well, I hope you enjoyed this post! Feel freed to leave any recommendations of the best books you’ve enjoyed! I love hearing about

new books! 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: 2013 Reading — Best & Worst | Expressions Of Me

Leave a Reply

