~The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis~Book Review~

The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia, #1)

 

Before the land of Narnia, there was a place called Charn. Before there was ever a Lucy,Edmund,Susan, and  Peter, there was a Polly and Digory.

 

~ My Thoughts~

I can truly say that I enjoyed myself while reading this book!  I was encouraged to read the rest of the series by my fellow blogger friends from, http://sarahsoine.wordpress.com/ and http://acceleratethejesusmovement.wordpress.com/! Thank you both so much!  C.S. Lewis was a wonderfully fantastic writer! I’m very eager to finish reading his writings!

 

 

Just like in,”The Lion,the Witch, and the Wardrobe” I saw the spiritual aspect behind certain parts in the  story. That’s the most awesome part and it had me really excited! The beginning of the book did sort of remind me of “The Secret Garden” for some reason though( another good classic). I really loved Digory and Polly’s characters they were very entertaining to read about. Especially Digory, he was so funny at times!

Quote by C.S. Lewis from The Magician's Nephew

Another interesting thing is that I definitely saw some of the Tolkien influence in the story! The rings and the disappearing. Totally Tolkien because he did the same thing with Frodo in the Fellowship of the Ring! I was  really amazed!

The Magician’s Nephew is very similar to the Creation in the Bible. Of course this book is the starting point to all things Narnia and how Narnia really began. The book also gives insight about the White Witch. Very interesting. One of my favorite parts in the book is when Aslan is singing the animals into the magical creatures we come to know in the second book and creating the land of Narnia. It really reminds me of God and His Creation.

Aslan sings Narnia into life. Oh, The Magician's Nephew made me cry! And the depiction of the creation of Narnia, with the stars singing and the animals forming is just gorgeous.

Digory had never seen such a sun... You could imagine that it laughed for joy as it came up.  The Magicians Nephew  -C.S. Lewis

The uncle (who was the Magician)  was by far the creepiest character in the book lol. No wonder the aunt was  hard on him!

The only problem that I had with this book was that it had three bad words. I think that’s how many there were. I prefer the books I read to not have any bad words at all. That’s my just my preference because I don’t believe in cursing.  But overall the story kinda overruled that and considering it was the uncle and not the children who were saying the curse words. If it were the children I would definitely I have a problem!

I’m glad to have read this book and !!   I’m currently listening to “The Horse and His Boy” on Youtube. I didn’t know they had  full audiobooks on Youtube! Especially the classics. That’s the way to go for me especially since I don’t own the rest of the Narnia books.  🙂

cs lewis- the Magician's Nephew

 

Until next time,

 

HAPPY READING Y’ALL!! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

