Through the Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer~Book Review~

Through the Deep Waters

                                                                        Through the Deep Waters by Kim V. Sawyer

 

 

About Through the Deep Waters:

Born to an unloving prostitute in a popular Chicago brothel, timid seventeen-year-old Dinah Hubley was raised amidst the secrets held in every dark, grimy room of her home.

Anxious to escape, Dinah pursues her dream of becoming a Harvey Girl, waiting tables along the railroad in an upscale hotel. But when she finds out she isn’t old enough, her only option is to accept a job as a chambermaid at the Clifton Hotel in Florence, Kansas. Eager to put everything behind her, Dinah feels more worthless than ever, based on a single horrible decision she made to survive.

Book review-

For starters I really,really love the book cover for this book! I will admit that seeing how vibrant the book cover was really encouraged me to read this book. The story plot also encouraged me to read it as well.

Reading this story was really heart touching. I’ve never read about a heroine having the name Dinah (the same as Jacob’s daughter Dinah in the Bible) so this was very different for me. I really liked how the author used her name as a dual fold character. The thing that was so unique about it was that her name actually became who she was for a little while. Dinah was born into a life that she had no control over whatsoever and she had to struggle to find God’s purpose for her life even though everything around her was very discouraging.


Amos Ackerman, a lowly chicken farmer, also had a very heart wrenching story as well. With
Amos and Dinah’s story, it was really good to see how the perfect will of God could mend
two very broken people’s lives to work out for the good for His glory. It was really refreshing to see that the author gave Amos,the hero, a flaw in his personal appearance because it is very often many Christian novels put emphasis on how muscular or how good-looking the male character is and a lot of times that may not be God’s chosen mate for a person.  She really put the emphasis on character which was really good.

Another thing that I did enjoy about the story is that the author gave some insight about being a Harvey Girl. I always like to have the historical lives of what people did back then intertwined into the story. I think it really adds more depth to the story.

Image Credit: Google-The Harvey Girls-

 

I did find some very encouraging sayings and quotes from this book. A scripture like, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things will be added unto you”…….

Some quotes,”You want a husband and a family. Those are normal desires for a young woman. But could it be you are so intent on gaining what you want that you’ve lost sight of what your soul needs most?” I thought this was very encouraging to me as a young lady in the Lord because it reminds me that I should only keep my sole focus on Christ and He will bring His will to pass in my life.

Also another quote that I enjoyed was when Dinah was praying and she said,” Help me remember You are my Enough.” That quote was like totally awesome because God is MORE than enough! 

Overall, even if the story did seem to move a bit slow at times, I did find it to be a very enjoyable read.  I think that this story was another level of this author that I’ve never seen before because usually her stories are lighthearted most of the time. This one was a bit darker than her former stories, in my opinion.  But  I couldn’t stop reading it until I’d reached the last page! Something that doesn’t really happen often. The book really did fit into the category of Christian Fiction and it wasn’t too preachy. I do encourage you all to read it just to experience a story of no matter how low a person can be, God’s hand is never to short to redeem them. (4 out of 5 stars)

*I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for my review. All opinions are entirely my own.*

 

To Learn more about Kim Sawyer and her books:

Visit Her Website Here!

To Read Chapter 1 Click Here!

 

HAPPY READING Y’ALL!! 🙂

 

Kim Vogel Sawyer is a best-selling, award-winning author highly acclaimed for her gentle stories of hope. More than one million copies of her books are currently in print. She lives in central Kansas where she and her retired military husband, Don, enjoy spoiling their ten granddarlings. – See more at: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=162648#sthash.V3u2Z7Sn.dpuf

Kim Vogel Sawyer

Kim Vogel Sawyer

Kim Vogel Sawyer is a best-selling, award-winning author highly acclaimed for her gentle stories of hope. More than one million copies of her books are currently in print. She lives in central Kansas where she and her retired military husband, Don, enjoy spoiling their ten granddarlings.

– See more at: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=162648#sthash.V3u2Z7Sn.dpuf

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

