Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring by J.J.R. Tolkien (Book Review)

The Fellowship of the Ring, by J.R.R. Tolkien, when all turns sour in Middle Earth, all forces must join to defeat evil, setting all previous rivalry aside.

 

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him.

After many ages it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.

(Synopsis from Amazon)

 

*************My Review***************

This is the second book of a four book series by Tolkien. I can truly say that I loved reading this book! I was amazed at how well I enjoyed it even I do prefer to read books by female authors rather than male authors. It has to be really,really,good in order for me to read a book by a male author.

lord of the rings characters - Google Search
All I can say is “Wow”!   Tolkien was a pure genius in weaving an incredible and amazing story. I had never read his writing but I do remember reading a little bit of “The Hobbit” when I was little and I wasn’t really interested. But I had found all four at my local store where I get great deals for used books. I was very excited! I had wanted to read the books first before I watched the movie series of the Lord of the Rings as well.
Tolkien was also pure genius for just creating a whole new world with mystical creatures,and creatures with worlds of their own, oh and don’t forget the songs! I would have never had the inspiration he had to write so many different songs and they weren’t short either!

What character from Lord of the Rings are you? I was Aragorn. :3“It was Sam's first view of a battle of Men against Men and he did not like it much. He was glad he could not see the dead face. He wondered what the man's name was and where he came from; and if he was really evil of heart, or what lies and threats had led him on the long march from his home; and if he would no rather have stayed there in peace -"
I also didn’t expect to like a book with mostly male characters but I did! I think Tolkien did a fantastic job creating the characters, Bilbo Baggins,Frodo ,Aragon,Legalos,,Gimili,Pippins,Sam,and Merry. My favorite were,Gimili Frodo,Sam,and Aragorn.

In the movie, I really loved Legolas! Orlando Bloom anyone? 😉

Day 11 Gimli and Legolas just the fact that it's a dwarf and an elf makes if all the more a true friendship...
I was also amazed with myself that I read and enjoyed 330 pages! I’m not really a person that loves too long or too short books. The adventure,the suspense, and the journey was too good! The writing was especially enchanting to read and it keep my attention! I kept turning page after page long into the night. I plan on reading the other books in this series as well. Overall, the book really reminded me of Pilgrim’s Progress in way because they were all on a journey trying to get rid of the burden of having the ring. It’s like reading of a Christian’s journey through all the  trials and battles but still pressing on towards the goal. It was awesome!
I do recommend this book to anyone especially young children because you don’t have to worry about if there’s any awkward parts or not in the book. Young boys especially would love reading it as well!

Fellowship of the Ring ... OK, I'm not much of a Tolkien fan, but I watched this one again this weekend and it is worth watching. Beautiful movie.
I did also watch the movies they were great but nothing can beat reading it for yourself. In case you’re wondering what movies did I liked better it was the second and third movie in the series. I haven’t a lot of nerve watching “The Hobbit” yet because for me the monsters on there are like totally creepy and I don’t feel like going to bed with the light on at night! lol! I know you may think it’s crazy but it’s just me. lol.  I hope you enjoyed the review! (5 stars)

Happy Reading Y’all!! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

