Part 1: Being Single, Courtship, and Marriage series: Being Single and The Waiting

Waiting for God's Choice

Hello everyone, or more specifically to you young singles ladies in the faith.  I felt lead to try to do a series about Courtship and Marriage. Let it be known that I’m also young and single in the faith. I haven’t been courted as of yet and I’m still young but I’ve grown up around so many good people who talked about things like a Courtship and Marriage series from different times in my life. They have been my strong hold and firm foundation ever since. I do however want to be a voice if I can to the young ladies out there who are at the age of courting  or maybe even marriage.
As I said before, I can’t really go fully in the courtship and marriage in detail because what do I know? I do want to pass along some of the pointers to you that have helped me. I believe we’re here to help one another along life’s journey.  Feel free to ask questions  or comment. I’ll try my best to answer them. So let’s get started! 🙂

 

I’m going to try to go into the different stages of this process and to my knowledge here it goes:
First Stage: The Waiting
Second Stage: The Friendship
Third Stage: The Courtship
Fourth Stage: The Engagement
Fifth Stage: Happily Married
So let’s get started! 🙂

 

 

Being Single:
“The Prayer of a Single Woman”
First Stage:  The Waiting

So, the waiting stage is the stage that most of us ladies know a lot about. We wait, we daydream, we sing, “One Day my Prince will Come” from Disney’s Cinderella  (well at least I  sing it sometimes lol! ).   🙂   The waiting stage has its ups and downs there is no doubt. Many times we may see our friends already in the courtship stage, or we may be invited to their weddings, or we may even have the opportunity to be in the wedding. When things like that happen then we get to thinking hmm…. I wonder why things aren’t moving fast enough for me? Will I ever get married? Does God care that I’m still single? I’m scared that everyone will be married and I end up an old maid!!  You know the thoughts!
Cinderella! This is what she is SUPPOSED to look like! The fact that they've change her for the "new generations" means they have no respect for the original art and the artist that created one of the world's most beloved characters. She was loved throughout all these years as she was and always will be!!
Even the enemy can whisper things in your ear like:” You’ll never get married, You’re getting old and you won’t have kids,there aren’t any Godly men left. They’re NOT looking for godly and virtuous young women these days. There aren’t any godly men left because they’re ALL looking for women that look like Kim Kardasion, Beyonce Knowles,or even Angelina Jolie(We all know that all women don’t look like that). Men today only want a coca cola bottle with all the things in the right places. And etcetera.” If you’re going through that then you can fill in the blanks. The devil is very creative in how he words things and he’ll get you thinking. But God is greater and I’m just telling you some of the tactics that the devil likes to use.

The enemy is really slick how he has us as  young women think that way,but the truth of it  is HE’S ALWAYS  THE BIGGEST LIAR THE WORLD HAS EVER KNOWN! The devil isn’t interested in seeing young women in the faith to stand strong and to be the example of how a TRUE LADY should be like. He tells us that the only way that we can get a man is to lower our standards.  He doesn’t like True Godly Courtship and Marriage. In fact he HATES it!   The day that we believe the devil’s lies is the day when we disbelieve in God’s promise.

 

So these are some of the reasons why I’m writing this. Okay, let’s face the fact that there are indeed two groups of young single ladies.
1. Single Ladies in waiting for Godly courtship and marriage and to maybe raise a family someday
2. Single Ladies who are so dedicated to God that they would rather stay single and live for the glory of God.

                     ~1 Corinthians 7: 8-9~

I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, it is good for them if they abide even as I.

But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn.

 

Single Christian Beauty Patience Grateful God

So let’s deal with the Single Lady looking to be Married one Day:
You have to admit there a lot of temptations and trials that many ladies face today. We’re tempted to lower our standards because of our world today were a woman who seems glamorous and flirts with all the boys/men seems to be right. In fact in you’re not courting or seeming to moving in that direction everyone thinks there’s something wrong with you as a person. I don’t know it’s just odd to some people. I should know!

To my Future husband, I am waiting for you, and I pray for you everyday. I pray your walk with the Lord is strengthened, every step you take. I pray you learn His truth, and keep it as a sword by your heart, with courage. I will not hasten to find you; instead, I leave you in His hands.. and I wait, excited to meet you ♥

Being a woman who looks forward to being married we have to pray because I KNOW prayer changes things. The prayer below is just a guideline. I would love to know your version!
“Firstly, Lord please help me to rise above temptations because I know if I let my standards down and give in to what you didn’t create me to be I know there will be consequences in the end. Help me to be that wife that you would want me to be. I know that if you should will that I marry, I’ll not only be happy but I will have to take on my future husbands needs and wants as well.  Lord you send me the husband that will be pleasing to you because I know that You only want what’s best for me. Create him Lord and let him find me and let me not have chase of flirt after him to obtain him. If he’s the one reveal it Lord by showing him and me. Let him climb Mount Everest for Me! Help me Lord to be all that He prays for in a future wife and let your will be done. Also if I’m to have children help me and my future husband to be a Godly example for them. Amen”

 

Yes.. He is for me.

On the other hand, there’s also some young ladies in the faith who wish to stay single in the faith for the Lord’s work. Whether you have the desire to just be a missionary to foreign lands or that you think that God has called you to stay single to serve Him all the days of your life. I do admire you for that because I believe God would use you in many ways for His glory. Keep the faith your work shall not be in vain my sister.

“For the Lady who feels in her heart that she is to remain single unto God”:
“Lord if I am to remain single, help me also to remain above temptations because I know they will come. You said in your word LORD that you would have a way of escape. I believe that you’re calling me higher and to serve you all of my days. Help me Lord and always give me the strength to press the battle for You. Lord you know my needs before I ask them. You are the greatest Husband any woman can have! You are a provider and You are a keeper. I put all my trust in you. I believe you’re putting in my heart to remain single for you and with your help I’m going to do just that. Help me to do whatever you want me to do and to be submissive to your will. For your glory. Amen.”

Now, either way the Lord is leading you whether to be married or stay single I do admire you and encourage you to press the battle whatever your path is in life. Know that God knows all things.  I shall try to leave you with this scripture. “In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths. Proverbs 3:6 ”  To truly know God’s will for your life, just pray and seek Him. Pray for His perfect will to be done and I believe you’ll be happier for it in the long run. 🙂

Looking for COURTSHIP in a dating world www.LeannaMae.org #courtship #dating #marriage

(Stay tuned for part 2 of this series of The Waiting and Self Esteem)

 

 

(Pics from Pinterest)

Leave a Reply

