The Outcast by Jolina Petersheim

The Outcast: a modern retelling of The Scarlet Letter - top of my favorite fiction list for this year... so far.

**If you’re planning to read this book then don’t read this review because it might have some spoilers!!!**

 

 

About

Raised in an Old Order Mennonite community, Rachel Stoltzfus is a strong-willed single woman, content living apart from mainstream society until whispers stir the moment her belly swells with new life. Refusing to repent and name the partner in her sin, Rachel feels the wrath of the religious sect as she is shunned by those she loves most. She is eventually coerced into leaving by her brother-in-law, the bishop.

But secrets run deep in this cloistered community, and the bishop is hiding some of his own, threatening his conscience and his very soul. When the life of Rachel’s baby is at stake, however, choices must be made that will bring the darkness to light, forever changing the lives of those who call Copper Creek home.

 

~My Review~

Being the amateur book reviewer that I am, it was very hard to decide how I was going to review and rate this book. It does pain me to reviews like this but I do have to share my opinion on the matter. I’ll try to be easy with this.

Let me start out by saying the reason why I give this book 2 stars is this:

1. For the book cover. It was really nice. It held mystery which is one reason that prompted me to read the book in the first place.
2.The author’s good punctuation,mechanics of English. If she didn’t have good English grammar I probably wouldn’t have finished reading the book. Also using the diverse dialect of the Penn. Dutch. I love to learn new languages so I was intrigued with the language.

So,let me say that I was very disappointed with this book.

In the first place, I should have known I wouldn’t have liked the story because it was based on the classic book “The Scarlet Letter” and I don’t like that book at all! I guess I was thinking that maybe the author would put a whole new twist on the story and that I might find favorable.

Sadly, it turns out I that  was wrong. 😦

This book is mostly based around the Mennonites and their way of life. What really discouraged me about this book was that there were way too many subtle or near meaning subtle meanings of something that happened or were going to happen concerning a man and a woman. All you that know,”The Scarlet Letter” story is mostly based upon Adultery,Lies,and Betrayal. So that about sums it up for this book and I didn’t like it at all.
So dear reader, I’m not at all condemning you if you like to read about, Betrayal,adultery,and heartbreak,and near happy endings just please be my guest. 🙂  (2 stars)

 

Happy Reading Y’all!!

 

 

 

*Had this book basically collecting dust somewhere and I decided to read it and write a review about it*

Leave a Reply

