Woman of Courage~ Wanda E. Brunstetter ~

Woman of Courage

~Synopsis~

Jilted by her fiancé, Amanda Pearson gives up on romance and turns to her Quaker faith for reassurance. She becomes determined to follow the Rev. and Mrs. Spalding into the western wilderness to minister to the Nez Percé Indians.

But a three-thousand-mile journey in 1837 is fraught with danger for anyone, and soon Amanda finds herself recovering from near death in a trapper’s cabin. His Indian wife becomes Amanda’s first convert–and friend. But the trapper and his intriguing half-Indian friend want nothing to do with Christians.

Buck McFadden has received nothing but pain from white men who claim Christ as their lord. He wants only to be left to his solitary life, but he can’t seem to walk away from Amanda.

Amanda fears she’ll never reach the mission in the Lapwai Valley. This journey has become life-changing for her–and those she meets–and the choices she must make are almost unbearable.

 

 

~Review~

This was my first book that I read by this author and I can tell you right now that I was very,very,very impressed! I really enjoyed reading this book. I think I’ve had interest in reading books that includes the Quaker lifestyle ever since reading Siri Mitchell’s book called,”The Messenger” (which is a very good book by the way if anyone hasn’t read it yet).

This book was very different for me. I loved the plot’s twists and turns! This book certainly has its share! On certain parts of the book I was like”WHAT, THIS CAN’T BE HAPPENING!!” It was full of surprises!

The heroine was very courageous and just as sweet to read about. I loved how she kept falling into the Quaker dialect and some of the other characters were like, “Why can’t you talk normally?” I also kinda felt sorry for the heroine at one point because it seemed like everything was happening to her all at once!
I’ve never really seen a book where there were so many other cultures involved. Like in this story, it ranged from the  Quakers to the Indians. Another thing that I like in books is when the author can do flash backs with the characters. It’s so awesome to really see why a certain character is a certain way because of what happened in the past and then eventually seeing God coming and changing the scene altogether.

I loved reading this book and I was totally captured until I had finished the very last page! It was adventurous and engaging all at the same time. I’m totally going to see what other books this author has written and see if can I find more books like this. It was a very good read! (4 stars)

 

 

Happy Reading Y’all!!   🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

