Deadly Echoes~Nancy Mehl~

Deadly Echoes (Finding Sanctuary #2)

~About~

After a youth filled with tragedy and upheaval, Sarah Miller’s life is finally settled with all echoes of the past silent at last. She happily calls Sanctuary her home and spends her days teaching at the local school.

Sarah’s joy at her recent reunion with her sister, Hannah, and meeting the niece she didn’t know she had is too soon interrupted when Deputy Sheriff Paul Gleason informs Sarah her sister has been killed.

As she learns more about Hannah’s death, the circumstances are eerily similar to their parents’ murder. Sarah enlists Paul’s help in digging deeper into the murders the police are dismissing as burglaries gone wrong. Paul’s concern encourages Sarah’s growing feelings for him, but as their investigation peels back the layers of lies almost twenty years old, they get close to uncovering the truth one person will do anything to hide–even if that means coming after the last remaining members of the Miller family.

~Review~

The beginning of “Deadly Echoes” really captivated me and that’s something that’s very hard to happen to me these days. My mind often goes in a hundred different directions but this book really reeled me in. It started out with a very mysterious beginning and I was in so much anticipation in finding out who this mystery person was!
Even though this is a second book in the series, It could be read as a stand alone as well.
The characters were well-developed which is a big plus in my book. I truly enjoy reading books with fully developed characters.
In my opinion,I feel that I would have enjoyed this book a whole lot more if the story had the bad guy’s input as well. In some mystery novels we as readers can get to know their thoughts or sometimes their next move which helps build the mysterious anticipation. I just think that this book needed a little bit more because to me it seemed a bit calm. I’m used to something happening like every 5 minutes! For example, like a gun going off or a bomb exploding a building or something in that order. If the book is a mystery I want it to nearly scare me out my wits! That’s just my opinion.
Overall, this was a pretty good read and I’m so glad to have read a book from a new to me author! I’m definitely looking forward to reading more from this author as well.(3.5)

*I recieved this book though Netgalley by Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

