A Lethal Beauty by Lis Wiehl (Book Review)

Lethal Beauty (Mia Quinn, #3)

*Synopsis*

Mia Quinn discovers that a series of seemingly unrelated murders are linked. How far up are the strings being pulled–and what happens when one of her own is at risk?

The murder Mia is prosecuting seems like an open and shut case–until the accused claims he was the real victim and that the dead girl attacked him first. The tabloids dub her a “lethal beauty.” Still, a conviction seems imminent. Then a key witness goes missing. Just when it looks like the killer could walk free, the dead woman’s mother takes matters into her own hands.

Meanwhile, Charlie Carlson, a Seattle homicide detective, is investigating the murder of a man whose body washed up on the beach of Puget Sound, but he’s got little to go on. He has no dental work, fingerprints aren’t on file, and he doesn’t match any missing person reports. Then a church pianist is senselessly gunned down before horrified parishioners.

All three cases seem unrelated–but are they? Together, Mia and Charlie race to find the answer before another crime hits too close to home

*My Review*

This  was a pretty amazing read! I was so shocked at how I was drawn in by this author’s writing. I was confused at first because of the many stories going on at one time. There was also quite a bit of Chinese characters’ names that was a bit confusing as well but as the story progressed it got better.

I haven’t really had a chance to read a good mystery novel in a while so it was refreshing to read a different genre for a change.

The mystery kept me in suspense the whole way even though it wasn’t the kind of suspense that will keep a person on the edge of their seat, it was still entertaining to read. I still prefer reading mysteries that have guns and bombs going off at every turn.

It would have been nice to read the first book in this series because even though I was at lost with some of the plot that had been building up from the previous books, it’s not necessary to read the first books in my opinion. It would help though to keep up with background plot.

A Lethal Beauty brought up the issue that has always been an interesting concern to me and that is slavery  in modern America. The novel did a really good job portraying the lives of people who are searching for a better life but in the end are bitterly deceived.

All the characters from Lethal Beauty whether it was the major or minor characters, I enjoyed reading about them because they were absolutely amazing!

The writing was consistent and the plot was heartfelt. I really enjoyed reading this novel and I can’t wait to read more books from this author.

I highly recommend this book!

*I received this book from BookLook bloggers through NetGalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and I wasn’t required to write a positive review.*

Leave a Reply

