The Pharaoh’s Daughter~Mesu Andrews~

The Pharaoh's Daughter (Treasures of the Nile)

~Synopsis~

Anippe has grown up in the shadows of Egypt’s good god Pharaoh, aware that Anubis, god of the afterlife, may take her or her siblings at any moment. She watched him snatch her mother and infant brother during childbirth, a moment which awakens in her a terrible dread of ever bearing a child. Now she is to be become the bride of Sebak, a kind but quick-tempered Captain of Pharaoh Tut’s army. In order to provide Sebak the heir he deserves and yet protect herself from the underworld gods, Anippe must launch a series of deceptions, even involving the Hebrew midwives—women ordered by Tut to drown the sons of their own people in the Nile.
When she finds a baby floating in a basket on the great river, Anippe believes Egypt’s gods have answered her pleas, entrenching her more deeply in deception and placing her and her son Mehy, whom handmaiden Miriam calls Moses, in mortal danger.
As bloodshed and savage politics shift the balance of power in Egypt, the gods reveal their fickle natures and Anippe wonders if her son, a boy of Hebrew blood, could one day become king. Or does the god of her Hebrew servants, the one they call El Shaddai, have a different plan—for them all?

~My Review~

When I learned that Mesu Andrews was coming out with a new book I was totally excited. I was especially excited when I learned that she was using one of my favorite movies(The Ten Commandments 1956) as a basis or as an inspiration for  this novel.
Growing up I was also really interested in Egyptian history so it was really cool how the author melded together Biblical stories,Egyptian history ,and fiction and created a masterpiece.
I really love how the author laid a foundation with the main character Anippe. Anippe’s story was so heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time.
The different cast of characters in this novel was pretty awesome to read about. I loved the variety of characters. Although there was one character in this novel that absolutely grated on my nerves! I’ll let you read it to find out. 😉
There was one quote in this book that really moved me,
“El-Shaddai holds my heart,Bithiah. He’s the One I adore. I feel His presence when I sing.”
“Oh, Miriam.” Disheartened,Bithiah ached at the girl’s loneliness. “A god could never fill the longing for your one true love.”
“No,Bithiah. A man can never fill the longing for my one true God.”

The writing was concise and gripping. I really enjoyed reading this awesome book and I can’t wait to see what else Mesu Andrews has in store!

Happy Reading!!!

*I received this book through NetGalley by Blogging for Books. All opinions expressed are entirely my own. I was not compensated in any way for this review*

Author

mesu andrews

Website

Leave a Reply

