Undercover Bride~Margaret Brownley~

~Synopsis~

Pinkerton detective Maggie Cartwright is tasked with going undercover as a mail order bride. Her “fiancé” is widower Garrett Thomas, aka the suspected Whistle-Stop Bandit. No sooner does Maggie arrive in Arizona Territory when she’s confronted with an early wedding date—the clock is ticking on her detective work or she may end up a criminal’s wife! As the day of the wedding draws near, Maggie begins to panic. The problem is that the more she gets to know Garrett and his two adorable children, the harder it is to keep up the deception. Can a man as kind and gentle as Garrett really be the Whistle-Stop Bandit?

~My Review~

I was very impressed with this novel. It has taken me a while to find a book where the characters and the story plot was entertaining to read about. A really good thing about this novel is that you don’t have to read them in order.
The heroine was a great character to read about. I always love to read novels that includes a mail order bride or a marriage of convenience stories especially in a western historical fiction setting. I thought it was really cool to read about a female detective in the early 1880’s. It was awesome!

The novel itself had a very nice mixture of history,romance,and comedy. The characters were lively and well thought out. The mystery was also great to read about. The drama in this novel really pulled my heart-strings which is always a good things. There’s also some historical facts about the Pinkertons included in the story. I was entranced by this novel and I love it when a novel can pull me into its depths from everyday life.

I’m planning on reading the first book and the next book in this series. I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend this novel to anyone who’s looking for a spectacular afternoon read. 🙂

Author

ff6ec060ada0c83b298b2210.L._V192223235_SX200_

WEBSITE

*I received this book through Netgalley through Barobour Publishers. All opinions expressed are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.*

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

