The Mistress of Tall Acre~Laura Frantz

The Mistress of Tall Acre

~Synopsis~

The American Revolution is finally over, and Sophie Menzies is starved for good news. When her nearest neighbor, General Seamus Ogilvy, finally comes home to Tall Acre, she hopes it is a sign of better days to come. But the general is now a widower with a small daughter in desperate need of a mother. Nearly destitute, Sophie agrees to marry Seamus and become the mistress of Tall Acre in what seems a safe, sensible arrangement. But when a woman from the general’s past returns without warning, the ties that bind this fledgling family together will be strained to the utmost. When all is said and done, who will be the rightful mistress of Tall Acre?

Triumph and tragedy, loyalty and betrayal–readers find it all in the rich pages of this newest historical novel from the talented pen of Laura Frantz. Her careful historical details immerse the reader in the story world, and her emotional writing and finely tuned characters never cease to enchant fans both old and new.

~My Review~

*Sigh*
Where can I begin? This book was just AWESOME!! From the very first page, I was enraptured by this wonderfully and beautifully written tale. I was enchanted from the beginning to the end. This novel was definitely one of those books that I didn’t want to end! I know sadly all good things must come to an end. 😦

Oh my GOODNESS, the book cover is just gorgeous!! I’m glad to have finally read a novel where the book cover and the story itself goes hand in hand. I must say I was very intrigued by that alone.

The Mistress of Tall Acre had some very genius twists and turns intertwined into the novel. I think it’s always good for an author to step out their normal comfort zone and continually remind us why we take the time to stalk and beg for their next novel. I think that the author did a splendid job and I can’t wait for her next novel! I loved reading this book!

This novel included all of my favorite three things that I ALWAYS expect in a Christian fiction novel. What are those three things you may ask? Well, adventure,faith,and of course heart warming romance.

I highly,highly recommend this read! This has to be one of Laura Frantz’ best works besides, Courting Morrow Little, and The Colonel’s Lady. You MUST read it! To be short and sweet, this has to be one of the best colonial reads ever! I will definitely be re-reading this book. 🙂

Book Rating: 4.5 stars

*I received this book for review from the publishers. I was no in any way compensated for my review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

