A Worthy Heart~Susan Anne Mason~

A Worthy Heart (Courage to Dream, #2)

~Synopsis~

Can an Irish Lass with a Dream
for America Find True Love?

Maggie Montgomery’s long-held wish to see America is finally coming true. She’ll visit her beloved brother Rylan and his wife, Colleen, and at the same time, escape Neill Fitzgerald’s unwanted attention. In addition, Maggie has a secret! She plans to remain in America to seek her fortune and to hopefully find love. While visiting Irish Meadows, she meets an intriguing man whom she thinks is a stable hand. Only when Rylan demands she stay away from Adam O’Leary does she realize he’s Colleen’s brother, recently released from prison. Nonetheless, Maggie can’t seem to make her heart conform to her brother’s request.

Adam O’Leary has never felt worthy of his place in the family. Spending time in jail only reinforces his belief. Now that he’s free, Adam hopes to make amends and earn back his family’s trust. Falling in love with Maggie Montgomery, however, was never in his plans.

Despite everyone’s effort to keep them apart, the two develop a bond nothing can break–but has Adam truly changed, or will the sins of his past prove too much for Maggie to overcome?

 

                                ~My Review~

This is my first book that I’ve read by this author. I did start on one of her other books which would be the first book in this series but I didn’t get to finish it. I wish that I did finish it so that I could’ve had a better understanding what was going on in this book. My advice to anyone who is planning on reading “A Worthy Heart” needs to read the first book,”Irish Meadows” in order to be up to speed to what is in this book. That’s just my opinion.
First of all, there were a whole lot more characters in this novel than what I was used to reading in a book. I did still enjoy reading this novel and I can say that it kept my attention throughout the story. If something can keep my attention as far was a book goes then it definitely gets a plus from me. Though I liked the characters pretty decently and the writing flowed well, I still felt that the story was covering the basics and not really going into the depths of the soul of the different characters in the story.
I finished this book within a day or two. I can definitely see potential in this author’s writing but hopefully in the next book there will be fewer characters to keep up with and I just need to see more life and depth in her stories so that every time I read her novels I know it won’t be cliche’.

I love stories that weaves tales of how many different cultures immigrated to America. I find the struggles that they went through and their perseverance very intriguing to read about.
The book cover is absolutely beautiful which I must confess is something that drew me to the story in the first place and also I’ve been wanting to read books from this author. I enjoyed reading this novel and I’m looking forward to reading more from this author in the future. (4 stars)

*I received this book through Bethany House Publishers. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

