Calico Spy~Margaret Brownley~

Calico Spy (Undercover Ladies #3)

~Synopsis~

Pinkerton operative Katie Madison’s newest case takes her to Calico, Kansas, where two Harvey House restaurant waitresses were murdered in mysterious circumstances. Calico’s sheriff, Branch Whitman, has never met a Pink he liked and is stunned to learn the pretty redhead’s true identity as she works undercover as a Harvey girl. A tornado hits town, and a past deception puts Branch’s eight-year-old-son in danger. Now the Sheriff has no choice but to work with Katie—or chance losing everything he holds dear.

 

My Review

I have read quite a bit of books by Margaret Brownley. I have been a fan of her writing ever since I read her first book so I always try to keep updated with her upcoming novels.
I was quite excited when I had the opportunity to review, “A Calico Spy”. I love historical westerns and romance included in the mix. I LOVE to read anything that has the Pinkertons involved and also I’ve found reading about the Harvey girls is very interesting to read about as well.

The heroine, was an okay heroine but I would have loved for her character to stand out a little but more for my taste. The hero, Branch, was swoony. 😉 Although I think that the main characters in this book were pretty okay and they weren’t shallow or anything, I just needed a little bit more from them as far as characterization wise.

The plot was interesting and it did a really good of keeping my attention. Like I said, I love anything that has to do with a western historical so I was satisfied as far as on that account.

This was the conclusion of a wonderful series and I think that each book is wonderful to read as a standalone.
It was also good to know that the author got some inspiration for this story from a new heartthrob of mine,Sherlock Holmes.
Overall, I thought that this was a pretty interesting read and a wonderful conclusion to a fantastically superb series. (4 stars)

 

Leave a Reply

