The Confessions of X~Suzanne M.Wolfe~

 The Confessions of X*Synopsis*

Before he became the sainted church father of Christianity, Augustine of Hippo began a love affair with a young woman whose name has been lost to history. They were together for over thirteen years, and she bore him a son. This is her story.

She met Augustine in Carthage when she was just seventeen years old. She was the daughter of a tile-layer. He was a student and the heir to a fortune. They fell in love, despite her lower station and Augustine’s dreams of greatness. Their passion was strong, but the only position in his life that was available to her was as his concubine. When Augustine’s ambition and family compelled him to disown his relationship with the her, X was thrust into a devastating reality as she was torn from her son and sent away to her native Africa.

A reflection of what it means to love and lose, this novel paints a gripping and raw portrait of ancient culture, appealing to historical fiction fans while deftly exploring one woman’s search for identity and happiness within very limited circumstances

 

 ~My Review~

The Confessions of X ~Suzanne M. Wolfe

I can say that I didn’t know what to expect while reading this novel. I knew a little of St.Augustine and I knew there is a book that he had written but I’ve never read his writings. It may be on my list of to-read books because I thought that this novel was pretty interesting.

As I say over and over, I’m always looking forward to reading something new and exciting.
This novel was pretty much different from my usual reads. In my opinion,I really don’t enjoy reading books that are written from a first person perspective but I can say that I was completely drawn to the storyline even though I’ve been kinda in a reading slump for about over a month. I thought that the writing was upbeat and interesting. I enjoyed reading about the different characters in this novel as well.

I highly recommend this book. I thought that “Confessions of X” because it was unique and well written. I’m very much looking to anything else this author will write.

 

 

*I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

