The Crimson Cord~Jill Eileen Smith~

The Crimson Cord: Rahab's Story (Daughters of the Promised Land #1)

~Synopsis~

Wife to a gambler who took one too many risks, Rahab finds herself sold as a slave to cover her husband’s debt. Forced into prostitution by Dabir, counselor to the Syrian king, Rahab despairs of ever regaining her freedom and her self-respect. But when Israelite spies enter Jericho and come to lodge at her house, Rahab sees a glimmer of hope and the opportunity of a lifetime. In one risky moment, she takes a leap of faith, puts her trust in a God she does not know, and vows to protect the spies from the authorities. When the armies of Israel arrive weeks later, Rahab hopes they will keep their promise, but she has no idea what kind of challenges await her outside Jericho’s walls–or if she will ever know the meaning of love.

                                       *My Review*

The Crimson Cord:Rahab’s Story-Jill Eileen Smith

Ever since I read Tessa Afshar’s book, Pearl in the Sand which was based on the life of Rahab I have been looking forward to reading Biblical fiction novels based on Rahab.
So as far as concerning this novel, I was pretty drawn into the story at first. It was interesting enough and I pretty much got through half of the book before I just felt that the book was kinda drawn out.

As the story went along, I felt that most of the characters were one-dimensional and nothing about the story really stood out to me. I felt that the novel needed more and the characters needed to have that extraordinary something to really stand out. The book cover is beautifully done.
All in all, the story was ok but not a book that I wouldn’t want to revisit anytime soon.

(3 stars)

*I received a free copy of this book from Revell Publishers all opinions expressed are my own.*

 

 

Leave a Reply

